Mentalities of Hosting and Host Selection

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Mentalities of Hosting and Host Selection

Post by Psychoreality on Thu Dec 15, 2016 5:50 am

I like to think that since I've been here for two years I'm somewhat experienced in how this should work by now. There's of course better hosting guides for you to follow if you're new, this is more of a "what is becoming popular but is not something particularly good or healthy" piece.

Hosting Mentality: Randomness is Quality
Okay, real talk? Random events and random qualities in a roleplay are more often than not shoehorned in for "variation" and "unique qualities". SOME variation is good. Changing small things about your setting are fine. Having success chances on some actions are fine. I think Dungeons and Dragons has one of the best randomness elements of any game ever made. Everything is random, but it feels fair because of that, and player actions still make a much larger difference than rolls do. However, D&D is built for long-form campaigns, while RPs on Showdown are limited to four hours. Because of that, having as little randomness as possible is WAY better than having as much as possible. This includes having "lol random" events in Cruise, Kingdom, etc, as well as heavy RNG unless it is plot-important. Randomness will infuriate players far more than it excites them, unless you have a good "delta of randomness" like games such as Hearthstone or D&D. Generally RPs do NOT have a good delta of randomness, and it shows, because the less RNG-dependent RPs like CQ, MM, Trainer and Freeroam are the ones that become popular.

Hosting Mentality: Roleplayer Pandering